Massachusetts recently became the 30th state nationwide to ban texting while driving for all drivers. The new law goes even further. It prohibits 16- to 17-year-old drivers from using a phone while driving. The new law also prohibits drivers from scanning the Internet on a mobile device.
So what happens if you violate the law? The first offense carries a $100 fine for adults texting while driving, $250 for the second offense and $500 for the third offense and all subsequent offenses for adults. Penalties vary for minors.
The new law comes on the heels of a nationwide ban earlier this year on texting while driving for all commercial truck drivers. But just because Massachusetts has outlawed texting while driving does not guarantee we will all be safer. One study found that texting laws do not reduce the number of car accidents.
But don’t be fooled. The evidence is clear. All of our lives are at risk when someone texts or even uses a cell phone while driving. Extensive scientific studies have found that drivers using phones are four times as likely to cause an accident as other drivers.
That’s probably why many states ban the use of handheld cell phones while driving. Massachusetts is not one of them. You can legally talk on a cell phone while holding one in your hand while driving in Massachusetts.
Distracted driving has become a menace on our roads. Don’t become another statistic. Be aware. Stay safe. And if a driver using a cell phone injuries you in an accident, contact the Law Offices of Mark E. Salomone. We know the law and know how to get results. We have years of experience vigorously defending victims of serious car accidents and getting them the compensation they deserve.
Don’t let someone else’s irresponsible behavior ruin your life. Take action. Call Mark E. Salomone today. We mean business.